A walk down memory lane

Waking up early in the morning, I can smell the coffee brewing. The loud frying of bacon fills the house with its amazing aroma. As I jump up to get my day started, I notice my favorite Saturday morning cartoons airing on the television so I decide to tune in. As I drift afar into animation, my parents force me to the breakfast table. After several minutes of back and forward, I finally make my way to the kitchen to prepare my plate. Pancakes!! They cooked me pancakes! When did they sneak this in on me? I look around the corner of the kitchen to see the glistening expression on my parents’ faces. “They know me so well,” I would tell myself. One of the many examples I encountered with love.

As I make my way outside to disappear into the sun, I am greeted by my childhood friends just as I get my first touch of sunlight. “Come in here and get you something to eat,” my parents would say to my friends. “Shawn, get them boys a plate,” referring to my homeboys. “They know where the kitchen is, they can do it themselves,” my ignorant response would be handing my friends their plates as my parents asked. I could not comprehend the lesson of mannerism and love for my neighbor at that young age, even with something as simple as offering your neighbor food.

As we venture off into the sunlight, with our bellies full, we catch up on what happened hours prior to our present tag team duo, last night. We discuss girls, cars, freshness, and money as our daily journey begins with our normal pollination. We begin to spread the legacy of our immediate ancestors, our parents just by being who they raised us to become. From the respectfulness we showed our elders to our appearance and good hygiene, our mannerism just spread like wild flowers.

“Shawn,” my mother would yelled. Seems as if her voice could be heard for hundreds of miles. “Come eat and ask your friends to join us for dinner.” My parents and many of the neighbors of my community genuinely cared about the people and the environment in which they thrived. Even though our prides didn’t allow us to talk about financial struggles, they always gave others what they had. In fact, we always had food and clothing so that is what we gave the most, however, even with low funds as longs as our needs were taken care of, any particular person could receive a financial gift as well.

Blacks have to realize we are love. Parents such as my own embedded this into our DNA. There is not many people who can not relate to a story almost identical or very similar to this in today’s society. Why did we allow someone to confuse us with words? They tell us to give more because we are not giving enough. They even say do more because we are not doing enough, which is debatable depending on who you ask. In most cases, the giving we all received was something very tangible that served multiple duties. All we have ever known was giving. 

I ask you  to recall these lessons of giving you experienced in your life. Secondly, I ask that you be mindful of this, the seeds you sow are what you receive in return. There is no way for us to know what the future may hold. However, I encourage you to know that your future is filled with love for others and others showing you love in return, for as long as you continue to sow into others in good faith.

Do not allow anyone to tell you that we can not come together. Because the truth show we were in harmony with each other well before someone implied this expression.

JKJ

Leave a Reply

